h1

FUD!

October 1, 2011

FUD! Have you heard the term? I am not talking about Elmer. I am talking about the sales term FUD, or more specifically the acronym FUD. It stands for Fear, Uncertainty, and Doubt. When a sales person doesn’t have a great story to tell about their company, or their product, they may try to throw mud on your company or product. A seasoned sales person will try to get the focus off of what they don’t have and try to generate fear, uncertainty or doubt in the customer about your company or what you are offering.

I have no problem with a sales person accurately pointing out their strengths verses your weaknesses, that is what they get paid for, but I do take exceptions when they outright and knowingly lie. I have worked for NECS for 20+ years now (16 1/2 years originally, and now 4+ years since I came back from RBS), and it that time I have heard Sales people from Ikon, Danka, Global all say to a customer of ours that NECS is going out of business. I have heard back from customers, and even prospective employees say that Ikon, or Danka was going to “Buy NECS”. None of it was true, and if you have noticed Ikon, Danka & Global HAVE ALL BEEN BOUGHT, but NECS is still here. NECS is the largest Canon Dealer in New England. (Period) Ikon was purchased by Ricoh, Danka was purchased by Konica Minolta, and Global was purchased by Xerox.

The latest untrue rumor that I have heard was from two customers that spoke to an OCE Sales Rep. OCE was purchased by Canon. And OCE, like CBS tries to pass themselves off as “Canon”. Please see my article on CBS is not Canon! The same applies to OCE. Since neither OCE nor CBS has a 46 year history in New England, or 35 Years of selling and servicing Canons, or a local warehouse, dispatch, or System Engineers, they need to get the customers focus off of them and try to throw FUD on us. Twice in as many months an OCE rep has told a customer of ours, who in turn told our sales rep that they said NECS is going out of business. Really, at least come up with a new and original lie! After all it didn’t work for Ikon, Danka, or Global why do you think it will work for OCE.

The facts are OCE is relatively new to the Canon product line. They don’t have the local infrastructure in New England that NECS has, them’s the facts! They say when you have the facts, pound the facts, when you have the truth, pound the truth, when you don’t have either (OCE), pound the table! And that’s all this is OCE pounding the table to try to distract what we have to offer and what they don’t. The only similarity is they can sell you the Canon product, but that is where the similarity ends.

The last unfounded rumor that I recently heard, made me laugh out loud, because it is not the first time I have heard this rumor. One of my co-workers called me this week to tell me he was told that “I was leaving NECS”. After I finished laughing, I told him to have the person who told him that scurrilous lie to call my cell phone and I will set the record straight. I am very happy at NECS. I am not leaving, and have not spoken to any other company about a job. So what will the next lie be that I am terminally ill, or had a nervous breakdown?  LMAO!

I understand FUD! But when it becomes apparent to the customer that you are trying to win that you are a liar, that will be a hard obstacle to overcome. Maybe that’s why these companies cycle through sales reps so frequently.

That’s my $0.02
Vince McHugh
vince.mchugh@necs.biz
WWW.NECS.BIZ

Leave a Reply

