h1

I dare you…

February 8, 2012

…to put your cell phone number on your business card!

Why? You ask in Horror!

Because I do, and I tell  my customers to ask my competitors if they will give them their top “IT” guys cell phone number. My competitors just look at their shoes and try to talk and talk until they think that the customer forgets what they asked, but they don’t forget.

Again, you ask in disbelief, why? why do you do it? Because I have a great organization standing behind me. You’d better if you give out your cell phone number. I am NOT afraid of my customers calling me with a problem. My BIGGEST PROBLEM is when my customer has a problem that I don’t know about.

Problems are an opportunity for you to shine, for your team, or your company to shine! Do you have a billing issue? I have the greatest “Back Room” in the industry, and our Sales People can actually talk directly to them, and get our customer’s billing issue resolved. I know that this is not possible in the direct (_BS) Branch. When I worked for a direct branch we had to go through layers of managers and bureaucracies only to be told shut up and get out there and sell something. What the _BS Branch doesn’t understand and I doubt will ever understand is YOU WERE SELLING!!!!!! You were selling your company to the Customer.

No wonder why the Direct Branches always sell for the lowest rock bottom price, they have nothing else to say. Because they won’t let their sales people take care of their customer’s problems. So the customer correctly assumes that their salesman has no juice (can’t get anything done), so why should they pay more for their products when there is no added value. And I really don’t blame sales people who work for the Direct (_BS) Branch for not putting their cell phone numbers on their Business Card. Because if you are not allowed to solve your customer’s problems you certainly don’t want them calling you!

Finally, if you are a sales person please have a real message on your cell phones voice mail. Don’t just say you’ve reached 617-555-5678. Seriously? Don’t you want your customer to know that they’ve reached YOU! When I call a sales person and I can’t tell if I have actually reached the right person, I will double check the number, and then tentatively leave a message. If I am not sure that I have reached you how will your customer know.The bottom line is you need to be reachable. If you are not they will call me, and I answer my phone 🙂

That’s My $0.02
Vince McHugh
vince.mchugh@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

