h1

How to tell you work for a good company

April 15, 2012

It is only natural to bitch about work, seems like everyone does it to some degree. But how do you tell if you work for a good company or not?

For many years it had been a workers economy, where your top people could pick and choose where they wanted to work, often seeing large salary increases with each jump.  But the the last few years have been an employers market, raises are few, bonuses scarce, even if your company is not laying off, it seems like so many of your competitors are that the market is flooded with talented people. I am starting to see signs that the economy is turning around, albeit slowly. If the economy does continue to get better companies will again get more competitive for talent.

Men don’t get courted very often, it has happened to me a few times where a company puts on a full court press to get me to join them. Increased salary is often the karat that gets dangled, and who doesn’t want to make more money. But I think any decision you make solely on money will be a bad decision. That is not to say making more money is bad, but in and of itself it is not enough. You need to find the best opportunity, the best challenge, where can you make the greatest impact, where can you shine? When you answer that question, the money will follow.

But getting back to my original question, do you work for a good company? How do you know? Is there any objective way to know? I may have found one. The other day I walked in to our Parts Department and ran into a Senior Service Tech who had left NECS a few years back to work for another company. He recently returned to work for NECS again. I greeted him warmly, and told him it was good to see him (and I meant it), Because I believe that the chief responsibility of management is to get and keep good people. I ran into another tech who went to work for a Xerox \ Global company (hated it) and came back to NECS. Are you seeing a pattern here? Because I am.

This wasn’t the only talented person who left NECS only to come back later. I myself am on my second “tour of duty” at NECS. I can’t tell you how many people have come back to work at NECS after leaving to test the waters.  Now it is critical to leave on good terms, and it REALLY helps to stay on good terms. Don’t get me wrong when I am across the street from a buddy I want to beat them on every deal. But I don’t need to speak ill of them or the company that they work for, at least not in front of a potential customer.

There is a quote that I like that I will share with you here.

“If you work for someone, then work for him: Speak well of him and stand by the institution he represents. Remember, an ounce of loyalty is worth a pound of cleverness. If you must growl, condemn, and eternally find fault, resign your position and when you are on the outside, complain to your hearts content. But as long as you are a part of the institution do not   condemn it.”

~ Elbert Hubbard

So, I will ask you again, do you work for a good company? Because I do! If you left to work somewhere else would you come back to your current company? Could you come back to your current company? I will give you the same advice I have given my children, when they want to quit there current job. If you do resign, say nice things about your current employer, especially in your resignation letter. It will leave the door open if you want to come back, and if it is REALLY a good company you may want to come back, after testing the waters.

That’s My $0.02
Vince McHugh
vince.mchugh@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

