h1

Jumping in…

June 12, 2012

… to the wolf pit and fighting your way out!

New technology, new solutions, someone has to be the first guy through the door, the first person to make it your own. The first guy to really learn and understand its capabilities. To be able to understand and communicate to your Sales Force why this is important, and what advantage this gives them over their competition.

It sometimes feels like jumping into a “wolf pit” and fighting your way out. It is what Systems Engineers (SEs) have to do whenever a new technology is introduced. I am just now completing a long and challenging install that has taken about 2 months to get fully implemented and running to my customer’s satisfaction. I have walked through the “bowels” of this technology, My team and I have spent over 100 hours on this very large and very profitable install. Hours have been spent in remote sessions with both the manufacturer and the software developer. Truly a baptism by fire, but in the end we were successful and the customer is happy.

But the big benefit to me is the education that this install has provided to me and my team. We have learned things about this product that would have taken us years to learn if we ever learned them at all. I think that this is a quality that I look for Systems Engineer, a willingness to “figure it out”. It is the hallmark of a good SE, and makes him\her worth their salt.

That’s My $0.02
Vince McHugh
vince.mchugh@yahoo.com

One comment

  1. I agree…It takes enthusiasm and dedication and,therefore if somebody does’t like their job, they are in the wrong industry.



Leave a Reply

