h1

Good Bye 2013, Hello 2014!

January 1, 2014

I don’t know why it is so hard for me to say that “2013 was a good year”. But the words refuse to roll off my tongue. Yet by so many metrics it has been a good year. Maybe I am a little jaded, or at least a little guarded about being too optimistic having gone through a series of pretty tough years. Maybe I just need 2014 to also be a good year, which I think it will be, before I can really embrace how good 2013 was. They say hind sight is 20:20.

But I think I am going to go out on a limb and say 2013 was a good year. When I look at our Sales, we made our numbers more often than we missed them by a ratio of 3 to 1 (9 months out of 12). It has been a long time since I could say that. I am not sure if this is true just of NECS, or the Independent Dealers, or if the “Copier” Industry as a whole had a good year. I would love your comments to hear from a cross section of our industry (Large Regional Independents, Direct Sales Branches, Smaller Independents, and OEMs). How did 2013 treat you?

I am also seeing a number of leading indicators that tell me the economy in general is getting better. I know a number of people in the construction industry that are busy. When businesses begin to build new buildings & homes that is a sign that they have a positive outlook on the future! I believe that we are well into a recovery that will continue through 2014, as long as the Government doesn’t do anything stupid to “fix it”. Because some of the scariest words ever spoken are “I’m from the government, and I am here to help.” Lord save us from our helpful government. LOL.

How was your 2013 personally? How did your company do? And what are your predictions for 2014? Will it be better, worse, or about the same as 2013? I believe that 2014 will be even better than 2013, and last year was a good year, so that is saying something!

Have a Happy & Prosperous New Year,

That’s My $0.02
Vince McHugh
vince.mchugh@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

